TrueProfit vs a custom data warehouse: live net profit or one model for every channel?
TrueProfit gives Shopify and TikTok Shop stores live net profit with many ad and supplier integrations. Here is when a warehouse makes more sense.
Linus TseGreyfield DataFacts last checked Contents 10 sections
The short answer
TrueProfit is built for Shopify and TikTok Shop stores, including dropshipping and print-on-demand, that want live net profit with ad spend from many networks and supplier costs pulled in automatically. A warehouse is the better fit once Amazon sales, wholesale, or several brands need to sit in the same profit model.
How TrueProfit and a custom warehouse differ
- 01
Ad and supplier costs, ready to go
TrueProfit syncs ad spend from many networks and costs from shipping and print-on-demand suppliers. In a warehouse, each of those is a pipeline someone builds.
- 02
Two sales channels vs all of them
TrueProfit lists Shopify and TikTok Shop as sales channels; Amazon is supported for ad spend only. A warehouse models every channel.
- 03
Per-store plans vs one platform
TrueProfit needs one plan per store with per-order overage. In a warehouse, another store is more data in the same model, not another subscription.
Pricing at a glance
TrueProfit
Not stated on the vendor's About page. The Shopify App Store developer footer names FIREAPPS JSC (Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam). No acquisition was found.
A real-time net profit app for Shopify stores, with separate support for TikTok Shop, that pulls in ad spend, COGS, shipping and custom costs. It is aimed at Shopify DTC and dropshipping merchants.
- Pricing model
- Tiered subscription, priced by monthly order volume with per-order overage
- Published starting price
- $35/month (Basic, 300 orders included)
- Free tier
- No - 14-day free trial on all plans via the Shopify App Store
- What drives cost
- Basic $35/mo (300 orders; $0.30 per extra order, max $300 surcharge; 3 team members; 1 ad account per channel). Advanced $60 (600 orders; $0.20, max $500; adds pixel product analytics, P&L, email reports). Ultimate $100 (1,500 orders; $0.10, max $700; ad sync rules, unlimited COGS zones). Enterprise $200 (3,500 orders; $0.07, max $1,000; marketing attribution, MCP, unlimited users, 10 ad accounts per channel). Cost is driven by order volume, then by ad accounts per channel, team seats, and the number of stores (one plan per store; discounts available for more than 5 stores). There is no annual billing. The vendor does not publish a setup time.
Custom warehouse (Greyfield)
A Snowflake warehouse with dbt models and a BI layer (usually Sigma), built around your sources and your definitions, that you own after handover.
- Pricing model
- Project-based build, optional ongoing support
- Published starting price
- Scoped after a free consultation
- Free tier
- No
- What drives cost
- Warehouse, connector, and BI licences are billed by those vendors directly to you.
Feature comparison
"Not verified" means we could not confirm it from public docs, not that the feature is missing. Each cell links to the page we checked.
Sales channels
| Feature | Custom warehouse (Greyfield) | TrueProfit |
|---|---|---|
| Shopify Native Shopify connector. | Yes Through a managed connector such as Fivetran or Airbyte. source | Yes Core platform; on the Shopify App Store since July 2019. source |
| Amazon Seller Central Native Amazon connector. | Yes Orders, settlements, and fee events. source | Ad spend only Amazon appears only as an ad-spend source, not as a sales channel. source |
| TikTok Shop Native TikTok Shop connector. | Yes Modeled alongside Shopify and Amazon. source | Yes Direct TikTok Shop authorization syncs orders and products. One account can manage both Shopify and TikTok stores. source |
| Wholesale, retail, ERP, 3PL Native connectors for sources beyond the online store, such as NetSuite, Faire, retail POS, or a 3PL. | Yes Any source with a connector or export. source | Partly Shipping and 3PL cost integrations (ShipBob, ShipHero, ShipStation and others). No ERP, wholesale or POS sources. source |
Marketing
| Feature | Custom warehouse (Greyfield) | TrueProfit |
|---|---|---|
| Ad platform spend Meta, Google, and TikTok ad spend connectors. | Yes Ad spend modeled next to orders. source | Yes Meta, Google, TikTok, Microsoft, Snapchat, Pinterest, X, AppLovin, Taboola, Amazon Ads and others. source |
| Tracking pixel + attribution Its own pixel and multi-touch attribution models. | No Attribution from a dedicated tool can be loaded in. source | Partly TrueProfit Pixel product analytics on Advanced and up. The Marketing Attribution module is Enterprise-only. Whether it is multi-touch is not stated. source |
| MMM / incrementality Marketing mix modeling or incrementality testing. | No Not part of a standard build. | Not verified Not mentioned on vendor pages. source |
Profit and customers
| Feature | Custom warehouse (Greyfield) | TrueProfit |
|---|---|---|
| Profit with COGS and fees Contribution margin after product cost, shipping, and fees. | Yes Fees, refunds, and cost timing defined in dbt. source | Yes Real-time net profit with quantity- and zone-based COGS, shipping, taxes and custom costs. source |
| LTV and cohorts Lifetime value, cohort, and retention analysis. | Yes Contribution-margin LTV by acquisition channel. source | Yes CLV cohort analysis on all plans. source |
| Subscription analytics Recharge or other subscription reporting. | Yes Recharge renewals and skips modeled as events. source | Not verified No Recharge or subscription integration is listed. source |
| Custom metric definitions Define your own metric logic. | Yes Definitions live in dbt models you own. source | Yes Custom metrics are listed as a feature on all plans. The formula flexibility was not verified. source |
Data access
| Feature | Custom warehouse (Greyfield) | TrueProfit |
|---|---|---|
| Data in a warehouse you can query Your modeled data lands in Snowflake, BigQuery, or a hosted warehouse you can query with SQL. | Yes Your own Snowflake account. source | Not verified Only CSV export is listed. No warehouse or API destination is documented. source |
| SQL in the product Write SQL inside the product. | Yes Full SQL in Snowflake and in Sigma. source | Not verified No SQL interface is mentioned. source |
| AI assistant Natural-language questions about your data. | Partly Depends on the BI tool; we have built text-to-SQL access for a client. source | Partly A read-only MCP connection to ChatGPT, Claude and OpenClaw, Enterprise plan only per the pricing page. The Shopify listing also mentions AI extraction of costs from invoices. source |
| Mobile app A native mobile app. | Partly Depends on the BI tool you choose. | Yes Free iOS and Android apps on all plans. source |
What TrueProfit does well
It is quick to start, has mobile apps on every plan, and includes custom metrics and customer lifetime value cohorts on all plans. Higher plans add a first-party pixel for product analytics, marketing attribution, and a read-only connection for AI tools.
For dropshipping and print-on-demand stores, its supplier integrations save real work: product costs from those suppliers are hard to model by hand.
Where it stops
Amazon marketplace sales are not a listed channel, and we found no wholesale, POS, or ERP sources. Data leaves as CSV; we found no warehouse sync, SQL access, or public API. If you need one daily scorecard across every channel, that is the gap.
Where TrueProfit is better
- Low entry cost compared with a custom build: $35/month for 300 orders, with a 14-day trial
- Ad spend sync from a long list of networks is ready to use, which would each be a separate pipeline in a custom build
- Many cost sources are prebuilt: shipping (ShipStation, ShipBob, ShipHero and others), POD and dropship suppliers (Printful, Printify, CJ and others), weight-based shipping rules, and fixed and variable custom costs
- A first-party pixel for product analytics (Advanced and up) and a marketing attribution module (Enterprise)
- Native iOS and Android apps on every plan
- A read-only MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and OpenClaw (Enterprise plan per the pricing page)
- Custom metrics and CLV cohort analysis are included on all plans
Who should pick which
Pick TrueProfit if
- You sell on Shopify and TikTok Shop and want live net profit on your phone.
- You dropship or print on demand and need supplier costs pulled in automatically.
- You advertise on many networks and want spend synced without pipelines.
Pick a custom warehouse if
- Amazon, wholesale, or retail sales need to sit next to Shopify.
- You run several stores and do not want one plan per store.
- You need SQL or warehouse access to the modeled data.
Recommendations by team
| If you are | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Dropshipping or print-on-demand store | TrueProfit | Supplier and shipping costs integrate out of the box. |
| Shopify and TikTok Shop DTC brand | TrueProfit | Both channels and many ad networks in one live view. |
| Brand where Amazon is a large share of sales | A custom warehouse | Amazon orders and fees modeled with every other channel. |
Recent changes to TrueProfit
- 2026-05 Launched TrueProfit MCP, a read-only connection of profit data to ChatGPT, Claude and OpenClaw. The pricing page lists it as Enterprise-only.source
- 2026 Current pricing has four order-based tiers ($35-$200) with capped per-order overage. When this pricing took effect was not determined.source
Questions people ask
Does a custom warehouse replace TrueProfit?
Yes, if you need Amazon sales, wholesale, or warehouse access in one model. No, for a Shopify and TikTok Shop store that wants live profit at low cost.
How much does TrueProfit cost?
Plans run from $35 to $200 a month by order volume, with capped per-order overage and one plan per store. There is a 14-day trial and no annual plan.
Sources and corrections
We checked these pages on the dates shown. Products change quickly. If you work at TrueProfit and something here is wrong or out of date, email linus@greyfielddata.com and we will fix it.
Related comparisons
BeProfit vs a custom data warehouse: Shopify profit app or your own model?
BeProfit shows Shopify contribution profit for free to a few hundred dollars a month. Here is when that is enough and when you need a warehouse.
Lifetimely vs a custom data warehouse: profit and LTV for Shopify brands
Lifetimely gives Shopify brands daily P&L and LTV for $0 to $999 a month. Here is when that is all you need and when you have outgrown it.
Triple Whale vs a custom data warehouse: which one does your brand need?
Triple Whale is attribution and dashboards for Shopify brands. A custom warehouse is one source of truth across every channel. Many brands end up running both.